Cricket World Cup 

The Cricket World Cup 2019 begins at the end of May and offers a great way for cricket fans enjoy many exciting matches. With England and Wales playing host for the 2019 Cricket World Cup, teams from around the world will gather to show off the very best that their nation has to offer. Running well into summer with the final held on 14 July, the CWC 2019 also offers many online betting opportunities. Whether you are a newcomer or an old hand at cricket, here is a comprehensive guide to understanding this year’s Cricket World Cup.


What is the Cricket World Cup?

 While there are many different worldwide cricket tournaments out there today, the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup is considered by many to be the premier event in the sport. The tournament is one of the most popular sports events in the world and is broadcast in more than 200 countries. Since 2011, viewership worldwide has exceeded 2 billion people in total. The tournament happens every four years, with this year’s event being the twelfth since it began in 1975.


Despite heavy interest in both the British Isles and India, the most successful country in the tournament is actually Australia, which won in 2015 and has a total of five championships. The West Indies and India are the next two most successful countries in the tournament, each having won two championships. Each of those countries was also the runner up in the tournament once.


When is the Cricket World Cup? 

The next Cricket World Cup tournament begins on 30 May and lasts through mid-July, at which point the finalists will face off for the championship. England and South Africa lead off the event, and all ICC World Cup 2019 teams will play multiple games through May, June, and July. The top four teams will then face off in the ICC T20 World Cup semi-finals, which begins on 9 July. Finally, the two Cricket World Cup 2019 teams who emerge victorious from the semi-final round will face each other in a final to be played on 14 July at Lord’s in London. Until the semi-finals begin, every day features one or more ICC Cricket World Cup matches. Semi-finalists get to enjoy a few days off before and after the semi-final games to prepare themselves for a championship run.


Where will the Cricket World Cup be Played? 

England and Wales host this year’s Cricket World Cup T20 tournament, and all Cricket World Cup venues will be within those two countries. Based on the Cricket World Cup 2019 schedule, the different venues which will be used are as follows:

  • Bristol County Ground, Bristol
  • Cardiff Wales Stadium, Cardiff
  • County Ground Taunton, Taunton
  • Edgbaston, Birmingham
  • Headingley, Leeds
  • Hampshire Bowl, Southampton
  • Lord’s, London
  • Old Trafford, Manchester
  • The Oval, London
  • The Riverside Durham, Chester-le-Street
  • Trent Bridge, Nottingham


For the semi-final round, the 1st and 4th seeds will play at Old Trafford in Manchester on 9 July. The 2nd and 3rd seeds will play at Edgbaston in Birmingham on 11 July. The winning teams will then face off in Lord’s in London on 14 July to determine which team gets to claim the title of Cricket World Cup winners.


Betting on the Cricket World Cup 

With such a popular event and so much at stake, many people are interested in Cricket World Cup betting. While it’s impossible to know who might walk away as winners after more than a month and a half of hard-fought cricket matches, many people are paying attention to the West Indies cricket team. West Indies cricket has qualified for the World Cup in all 11 tournaments, but has not won a championship since 1979. The ICC West Indies team is well-matched against Pakistan, which has also qualified all 11 times and seeks its first championship since 1992. The West Indies cricket schedule has them facing Pakistan early in the tournament on 31 May, and West Indies vs Pakistan tickets are in high demand as a result.


India’s Part in the World Cup 

Because cricket is such an important part of Indian culture, it should come as no surprise that the region is well-represented in the Cricket World Cup. India’s part in the Cricket World Cup includes the following games:

  • Wednesday, 5 June: South Africa vs. India (Hampshire Bowl, Southampton)
  • Sunday, 9 June: India vs. Australia (The Oval, Manchester)
  • Thursday, 13 June: India vs. New Zealand (Trent Bridge, Nottingham)
  • Sunday, 16 June: India vs. Pakistan (Old Trafford, Manchester)
  • Saturday, 22 June: India vs. Afghanistan (Hampshire Bowl, Southampton)
  • Thursday, 27 June: West Indies India (Old Trafford, Manchester)
  • Sunday, 30 June: England vs. India (Edgbaston, Birmingham)
  • Tuesday, 2 July: Bangladesh vs. India (Edgbaston, Birmingham)
  • Saturday, 6 July: Sri Lanka vs. India (Headingley, Leeds)


The Indian national cricket team has represented well in the Cricket World Cup tournament. Like the West Indies and Pakistan, the team has qualified in all 11 tournaments. India took home the championship from the World Cup in both 1983 and 2011, the latter of which was particularly special for Indian citizens as the World Cup was hosted partly in India itself. Whether India can recreate the magic it had in 2011 is anybody’s guess.


Where to Watch the Cricket World Cup 

As with World Cup tournaments of the past, the 2019 Cricket World Cup will be broadcast worldwide. In India, Star Sports will provide live coverage. Additionally, you can view the tournament online through live updates and streaming. For online bettors, LuckyJump offers coverage up to the minute and can also provide tips and statistics that can help enhance the online betting experience.


The Cricket World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events in history. For the next month and a half, cricket fans will be on the edge of their seats as the best teams in the world face off to determine a champion. This is not an event for a sports fan to miss. LuckyJump can provide you with information and support for both watching the tournament and online betting.